Insane Clown Posse: ‘Piggy Pie’

I was originally going to run this in Halloween Week, but then I realised that by featuring an act as god-awful as Insane Clown Posse before Halloween might actually result in some kind of karmic retribution, and some freak force of nature, like a spontaneous country-wide hurricane, might manifest in order to ruin the night for everyone.

Okay, I’ll admit it – I have a degree of guilty-pleasure when it comes to old ICP – today’s track, ‘Piggy Pie’ is off the almost-tolerable The Great Milenko, although the version in the video is from the Forgotten Freshness Vol.2 rarities collection (which have subsequently reached Volume 4 – I told you they were a guilty pleasure…) I even went and saw them play live when they last toured the UK, way back in 2003. They played such a brief set there was still time to go the Bull and Gate afterwards and drink for an hour before last orders. ICP had spent the entire gig throwing as much ‘Faygo’ (ie, panda pops) into the crowd that by now our clothes had dried hard and sticky with all the processed sugar. When I stood up I tore half the fabric of the pub chair off as it was stuck to my back.

Yes, I know ICP aren’t a proper metal band – although they happily rode the nu-metal wagon while it lasted, adding limp-wristed dead-fish flaccid rock riffs to their increasingly embarassing vocals. Yes, I know they are shit – Blender magazine called them The Worst Act In Music History – but that’s half the point of writing about them. Their success in the face of their sheer total and utter crapness is truly something to behold.

I even found a video version with rap-along subtitles. Yeah, I’m too good to you.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

